Home > Heikki Kovalainen > Fresh cuts

Fresh cuts

Grooming is a favorite topic here at the pitwalk. Some may wonder why I am particularly obsessed with it despite admitting that there are times when I do not even comb my hair*. The answer is, it is just the way I have been raised. Some members of my family are known to be quite particular about appearances and will not hesitate to tell me that I look sloppy.

I still remember an uncle asking my cousin if he had brushed his teeth one day. My cousin glibly replied, “Yes uncle, I have. My teeth are just yellow.” Oh boy, I had to restrain myself from laughing, because we were actually at a cemetery paying our respects.

It was a good thing I didn’t laugh either because that same uncle then turned to me and asked, “Did you comb your hair this morning? It looks a bit messy. When is the last time you had a haircut?” Ouch, it was my turn…

Because of my grooming fixation, I am always pleased when I see someone looking tidy or with a new look. I had considered doing a feature on the Best 2012 Haircuts. But when it came down to it… I couldn’t genuinely say I liked more than one haircut. This (dubious) honor goes to Heikki Kovalainen. Heikki’s new haircut isn’t terribly different from what he had before, it’s just shorter. While Heikki’s hair looks fine styled with gel, I think I prefer it without the gel. I think it’s more flattering and makes him look more approachable.

*In my defense, I have long hair, so I do not get bedhead. My workplace is also located in a windy part of town, so even if I did comb it at home, I have to recomb at my cubicle. And yes, I have been known to do so at my cube. Just sayin’.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

