Home > Uncategorized > McLaren x Links of London

McLaren x Links of London

Brand collaborations tend to be exciting, especially when the stars align and two of your favorite brands combine creative forces. At other times collaborations may introduce you to new artists or brands that you have never heard of (or never considered purchasing). Perhaps the most popular and visible collaborations are the Mass Market x High End collaborations, which is another topic of discussion altogether.

The McLaren x Links of London collaboration which was just announced in a press release cannot really be compared to those type of collaborations. From the photos I have seen, the jewelry designs take their “inspiration” from various design elements of F1 (i.e. car parts) and materials (i.e. CARBON FIBER). For all you McLaren fans, fear not… some items come visibly branded with the McLaren logo so you may profess your McLaren love in other ways besides Rocket Red. 😉

How about some photos?

Here is the photo from the official McLaren press release online:

Is this photo supposed to excite me? Maybe I don’t “get it” because I’m not a man. But this bracelet also reminds me of a cheap coil bike lock:

Not exactly cool, nor cutting edge eh? Haha.

The following photos are from the official Links of London blog:

How about a set of McLaren x Links of London cuff links? I mean… look at that carbon fiber… 😛

To be honest at first glance, I thought these cuff links were actually ear plugs. Yikes. I guess that’s because I live in a place where tons of hipsters sport ear plugs. -____-;;; But McLaren and Links of London probably would not put out such a product, right?

There is also a cuff available… also with carbon fiber:

It’s all right… a little plain (perfect for men perhaps?). But does it look a little too “Oh HEYYY I randomly ripped a part off the car and wore it on my wrist?” I don’t know. The design is streamlined and minimal, which is appealing.

A “dog tag” was also made with.. yes… you guessed it… carbon fiber:

I don’t know how I feel about this one either. My initial reaction was “Do guys even wear dog tags anymore?” Maybe they do. Maybe they don’t. Readers please feel free to enlighten me on this topic. 😉

When I think of Links of London, their silver jewelry (primarily the charm bracelet) comes to mind. I wonder what type of metal will be used for this jewelry. Perhaps there will be different options at different price points (i.e. silver, white gold, platinum). However in the spirit of the McLaren collaboration, some other metals could also be used… titanium perhaps? There is no further information available at this time, so we’ll just have to see.

Would any of you McLaren lovers consider buying jewelry from this collaboration? Do tell. 🙂

  1. 16/02/2012 at 8:04 pm

    My dad wears dog tags and so does a friend of the family.
    Speaking of dog tags… that dog tag is about the only decent looking thing there xD
    I dunno, maybe it’s because I’m not a bloke either. I pretty much thought the same things as you really… I mean, seriously… it really does look like a bike lock that ‘bracelet’.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

