Home > Gurlfrenz, Jenson Button > Cartoon Heroes

Cartoon Heroes

A long long time ago I ran a contest I called The Sad Nando Face Contest. Readers of the blog (or twitter followers) could submit a photo of themselves making the world famouse Sad Nando Face. But since I knew that some people would not want to post questionably attractive photos of themselves, submitting photos of various drivers/team principals/other F1 staff was also acceptable.

The winner of the contest was @jonnywilde’s daughter and the prize he won was an illustration done by me. Since he is a McLaren lurver, he requested an illustration featuring either of the McLaren drivers. oooooh my. What a tall order! I normally draw feminine looking men. After much thought, I decided to draw Jenson and Jessica since I recalled that @jonnywilde was also a fan of Jessica.

I finally posted the drawing to @jonnywilde in January and it took a whopping 24 days to get to him. ~_~;;; And since he has finally received the prize, I can finally share the illustration with the rest of you!

Here it is… hope you all like it. Unfortunately the scan does not capture all of the details and subtlety of the shading, but here it is :


P.S. Click to enlarge
P.P.S. No, I did not trace a photo of the helmet. It was done completely freehand and it was a pain 😛

Information for art nerds:
– Illustration done on smooth vellum bristol with Prismacolor color pencils, gouache, discontinued Letraset TRIA markers, and Copic markers.

  1. 14/02/2011 at 11:26 am

    Love it, you really are great with this stuff. 🙂

  2. 14/02/2011 at 11:41 am

    very cool!

  3. 14/02/2011 at 12:03 pm

    Well done! Very cute 🙂

  4. 14/02/2011 at 6:49 pm

    Wonderful drawing! Can’t wait for the next contest. I wanna win a drawing of Heidfeld in his new Renault uniform on top of the podium.

  5. pinknyanko
    15/02/2011 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks… glad to hear the positive responses 🙂

    @Tamerlane: I’m not sure if I will run another contest… it kinda depends. And as @jonnywilde can attest, I am terribly slow at getting the prize out due various reasons.

  6. Jon Wilde
    15/02/2011 at 11:31 pm

    Totally worth the wait though!

    • pinknyanko
      15/02/2011 at 11:44 pm

      aww thanks! I’m so glad you like it. I had a terrible time deciding what to draw haha. Anyhoo as I mentioned before, it’d be best to keep it out of direct sunlight. 🙂

  1. 14/02/2011 at 10:20 pm

Leave a Reply

