Home > Uncategorized > Spotlight on Jackie Stewart

Spotlight on Jackie Stewart

As much as I love tartan… perhaps there is one person who loves it more than I do: Sir Jackie Stewart. Plaid and Jackie are pretty synonymous, are they not? I spotted these lovely shots of Jackie at Monza sporting tartan (OF COURSE!) and I was compelled to share them.

Here’s a shot of the tartan cap at Monza (ignore EJ :P)

Of course he had a pair of matching trousers:

For fun… let’s look at some older photos. I love looking at them myself…

There’s nothing better than his tartan helmet. Although I am admittedly a tartan freak…

He was just so cool back in the day! The hair, the clothes (the tartan haha), the sunglasses…! 😀

Even today in 2010, he’s still cool. A tartan necktie… I would wear it, would you? Perhaps hipsters might give it a shot?

Everyone has got to admit that he looks quite… glam here? Though he seems to be blinded by the lighting and WHERE IS MY BELOVED TARTAN? 😛

  1. LL
    16/09/2010 at 9:49 am

    There is actually some meaning to his choice in Tartan (I am Scottish-English I will never ever call it plaid >.<)

    At one point in history the people of Scotland were divided into clans, and each clan had it's respective tartan.
    The red one on his helmet is called "The Royal Stewart Tartan" and is his families tartan. It is also the personal tartan of Queen Elizabeth II who has Scottish roots, and is the same "plaid" popular in Punk fashion.
    The blue tartan on his hat, trousers and tie are all a tartan which he had created himself for his racing team, and it is registered as an official tartan. There are two versions "Stewart Racing" tartan and "Stewart Racing, Slealth" tartan and both were a part of his racing team's livery.

  2. pinknyanko
    16/09/2010 at 12:23 pm

    thanks! 😀 I love it when I learn new things from the readers. I’m considering editing the entry now.. but it makes it a bit awkward since I use the terms interchangeably (though this is not quite correct!). But I guess for this entry it would be more appropriate to use tartan the whole way through.

    • LL
      17/09/2010 at 3:31 pm

      Haha, well I guess plaid is an American term really, it took me a few years to figure out what it was when I heard it on TV and such!
      To be fair Stewarts patriotism doesn’t explain the trousers I mean if he wanted to be patriotic he could’ve worn a… kilt… actually… no, that would be absolutely terrifying…

      • pinknyanko
        17/09/2010 at 3:47 pm

        LOL!!! My design partner made a kilt out of houndstooth last year. I think we’re going to reuse it in our show next month. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

