Home > Christian Klien, Lewis Hamilton > Hamilton Not So Corporate Now?

Hamilton Not So Corporate Now?

Umm… it looks like Christian Klien is no longer the only driver on the grid with earrings. Hamilton was photographed wearing these somewhat discreet earrings in Turkey. But the real question is: Since when did Hamilton wear earrings?

I’m pretty sure these piercings are new. Despite the small size of the studs, I hope my powers of observation have not failed me until now. To verify, I looked at Hamilton’s photos from Monaco. There were no earrings in sight in Monaco. However, without a closer headshot, I can’t quite tell if his ears were pierced already or not. I’m leaning towards no, scars are visible pierced ear lobes even if they are pierced during childhood. But if anyone knows more about this topic, correct me if I am wrong.

So what do we think of Hamilton’s earrings? Is it cool and modern? Metrosexual perhaps? Or is it a “teenage rebellion” against corporate McLaren’s image (first the facial hair.. and now this)? I am not against males wearing earrings… but I feel they need a certain “image” to pull them off… one that I’m not sure Hamilton has.

  1. Mika
    28/05/2010 at 12:42 am

    Yeah well spotted, he must have had his ears pierced very recently. In this article he’s saying he used to wear earrings in the past tho (pre GP2 I think).

    http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/lifestyle/article-23703708-lewis-hamilton-cool-as-ice.do

    Along with Klien, Fernando Alonso used to have his ear pierced, same for Vitantonio Liuzzi who also had his eyebrow pierced.

  2. pinknyanko
    28/05/2010 at 1:05 am

    ahh ok. Yeah, he probably stopped wearing them due to McLaren’s “image” and maybe he wanted to be taken more seriously etc. Depending on when he actually had them pierced, the holes may not have closed up. Or maybe he wears earrings at home? x_X haha. But my guess is that he had them re-pierced… the holes more permanent the earlier they get pierced (e.g. I had mine since age 7 and they won’t close even if I don’t wear them for months at a time).

    Thx for your info about the other drivers too 🙂

    edit: Duh.. I just read the article .. so the holes did close. doh.

  3. Mika
    28/05/2010 at 1:12 am

    ill upload some images for you if you’d like me to (just read your other blog posted earlier this month). Dunno why I remember them wearing earrings lol, im not hugely interested in jewelry, but I bet if you show a piece of jewelry of any recent F1 driver, im pretty sure i know instantly who it belongs to… :-).

    Cheers, its an interesting blog :-)!

  4. pinknyanko
    28/05/2010 at 1:24 am

    Oh thanks! I would appreciate it if you have any photos to pass along. I’m not an expert on jewelry nor menswear, so if I need help with jewelry IDs I know I can count one someone. 🙂

    Thanks… it’s nice to know other people are interested in the things I observe. I’ll have more posts about Turkey in a few hours… it’s time for some zzz.

  5. Mika
    28/05/2010 at 1:32 am

    ok ill post the links quickly then:

    Fernando Alonso:



    Vitantonio Liuzzi earring:

    Liuzzi other earring and eyebrow piercing:

  6. pinknyanko
    28/05/2010 at 10:17 am

    Thanks for the photos!

  7. phil.s
    30/05/2010 at 4:36 am

    He now looks like a tw*t.

    • pinknyanko
      30/05/2010 at 12:23 pm

      yea, I don’t think it’s a good look for him.

  8. Mélodie
    03/06/2010 at 2:47 pm

    I don’t like it : Fernando, Liuzzi get it of, do the same Lewis

  9. Ayame
    01/09/2010 at 10:02 pm

    when i first saw hamilton’s earrings, I thought they were twin moles. lol

    your site’s making me laugh so hard…love it!

  10. pinknyanko
    01/09/2010 at 10:16 pm

    LOL… twin moles.. that suddenly grew for the Turkish GP…

    Glad you enjoy the blog, keep reading and follow on twitter if you like the blog!

  1. 28/05/2010 at 12:38 am
  2. 03/01/2011 at 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

